Download a PDF of this section: Dates and Deadlines Print this page Email this page

Dates and Deadlines

Note that graduate and professional programs do not necessarily follow the term and formal examination period schedule as outlined below.

Term Dates


Term Dates for Summer Session 2019

  Term 1
(May – June, 2019)
Term 2
(July – August, 2019)
Start Monday, May 6 Tuesday, July 2
Midterm Break June 3-7 N/A
Finish Thursday, June 20 Friday, August 9
Teaching Days 28 28
Exams Start Monday, June 24 Tuesday, August 13
Exams Finish Friday, June 28 Saturday, August 17

Term Dates for Winter Session 2019/20

  Term 1
(September – December, 2019)
Term 2
(January – April, 2020)
Start Tuesday, September 3 Monday, January 6
Midterm Break N/A February 18-21
Finish Friday, November 29 Wednesday, April 8
Teaching Days 62 63
Exams Start Tuesday, December 3 Tuesday, April 14
Exams Finish Wednesday, December 18 Wednesday, April 29

Term Dates for Summer Session 2020

  Term 1
(May – June, 2020)
Term 2
(July – August, 2020)
Start Monday, May 11 Monday, July 6
Finish Thursday, June 18 Thursday, August 13
Teaching Days 28 28
Exams Start Monday, June 22 Monday, August 17
Exams Finish Friday, June 26 Friday, August 21

Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates


Summer Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2019

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1
Full-session course (Terms 1 and 2) May 17, 2019 May 18 – Jun 21, 2019 After June 21, 2019
Term 1 Course May 10, 2019 May 11 – May 24, 2019 After May 24, 2019
Term 2 Course July 8, 2019 July 9 – July 19, 2019 After July 19, 2019
Distance Education Terms A and B May 24, 2019 May 25 – June 21, 2019 After June 21, 2019
1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

Winter Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2019-20

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1
Full-year course (Terms 1 and 2) or Distance Education Term B September 24, 2019 September 25 – November 22, 2019 After November 22, 2019
Term 1 Course or Distance Education Term A September 17, 2019 September 18 – October 11, 2019 After October 11, 2019
Term 2 Course or Distance Education Term C January 17, 2020 January 18 – February 14, 2020 After February 14, 2020
Distance Education Term D January 24, 2020 January 25 – March 21, 2020 After March 21, 2020
1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

Summer Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2020

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1
Full-session course (Terms 1 and 2) May 22, 2020 May 23 – Jun 26, 2020 After June 26, 2020
Term 1 Course May 15, 2020 May 16 – May 29, 2020 After May 29, 2020
Term 2 Course July 10, 2020 July 11 – July 24, 2020 After July 24, 2020
Distance Education Terms A and B May 22, 2020 May 23 – June 26, 2020 After June 26, 2020
1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

Academic Year

Future Term and Examination Dates

Application and Document Deadlines

The University of British Columbia

Student Services
Vancouver Campus
1874 East Mall
Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia