Download a PDF of this section: Dates and Deadlines Print this page Email this page

Dates and Deadlines

Note that graduate and professional programs do not necessarily follow the term and formal examination period schedule as outlined below.

Term Dates


Term Dates for Summer Session 2021

  Term 1
(May – June, 2021)
Term 2
(July – August, 2021)
Start Monday, May 10 Monday, July 5
Finish Thursday, June 17 Thursday, August 12
Teaching Days 28 28
Exams Start Monday, June 21 Monday, August 16
Exams Finish Friday, June 25 Friday, August 20

Term Dates for Winter Session 2021/22

  Term 1
(September – December, 2021)
Term 2
(January – April, 2022)
Start Tuesday, September 7 Monday, January 10
Midterm Break November 10 – 12 February 21 – 25
Finish Tuesday, December 7 Friday, April 8
Teaching Days 60 60
Exams Start Saturday, December 11 Tuesday, April 12
Exams Finish Wednesday, December 22 Wednesday, April 27

Term Dates for Summer Session 2022

  Term 1
(May – June, 2022)
Term 2
(July – August, 2022)
Start Monday, May 16 Monday, July 4
Finish Wednesday, June 22 Thursday, August 11
Teaching Days 27 28
Exams Start Sunday, June 26 Monday, August 15
Exams Finish Thursday, June 30 Friday, August 19

Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates


Summer Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2021

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1
Full-session course (Terms 1 and 2) May 21, 2021 May 22 – July 2, 2021 After July 2, 2021
Term 1 Course May 14, 2021 May 15 – June 4, 2021 After June 4, 2021
Term 2 Course July 9, 2021 July 10 – July 30, 2021 After July 30, 2021
Distance Education Terms A and B May 21, 2021 May 22 – July 2, 2021 After July 2, 2021
Distance Education Term C May 14, 2021 May 15 – June 4, 2021 June 4, 2021
1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

Winter Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2021/22

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1
Full-year course (Terms 1 and 2) or Distance Education Term B September 27, 2021 September 28 – November 26, 2021 After November 26, 2021
Term 1 Course or Distance Education Term A September 20, 2021 September 21 – October 29, 2021 After October 29, 2021
Term 2 Course or Distance Education Term C January 21, 2022 January 22 – March 4, 2022 After March 4, 2022
Distance Education Term D January 28, 2022 January 29 – April 8, 2022 After April 8, 2022
1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

Summer Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2022

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1
Full-session course (Terms 1 and 2) May 27, 2022 May 28 – July 8, 2022 After July 8, 2022
Term 1 Course May 20, 2022 May 21 – June 10, 2022 After June 10, 2022
Term 2 Course July 8, 2022 July 9 – July 29, 2022 After July 29, 2022
Distance Education Terms A and B May 27, 2022 May 28 – July 8, 2022 After July 8, 2022
1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

Academic Year

Future Term and Examination Dates

Application and Document Deadlines

The University of British Columbia

Student Services
Vancouver Campus
1874 East Mall
Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia