Dates and Deadlines

Note that graduate and professional programs do not necessarily follow the term and formal examination period schedule as outlined below.

Term Dates


Term Dates for Summer Session 2019

  Term 1
(May – June, 2019)
Term 2
(July – August, 2019)
Start Monday, May 13 Tuesday, July 2
Finish Thursday, June 20 Friday, August 9
Teaching Days 28 28
Exams Start Monday, June 24 Monday, August 12
Exams Finish Friday, June 28 Friday, August 16

Term Dates for Winter Session 2019/20

  Term 1
(September – December 2019)
Term 2
(January – April 2020)
Start Tuesday, September 3* Monday, January 6
Midterm Break Tuesday, November 12 February 18 – 21
Finish Friday, November 29 Wednesday, April 8
Teaching Days 60 63
Exams Start Monday, December 2 Tuesday, April 14
Exams Finish Tuesday, December 17 Wednesday, April 29

*Classes are cancelled on Sept. 3rd to allow students to attend a first-day orientation and is not used in the calculation of teaching days.

Term Dates for Summer Session 2020

  Term 1
(May – June 2020)
Term 2
(July – August 2020)
Start Monday, May 11 Tuesday, July 6
Finish Thursday, June 18 Thursday, August 13
Teaching Days 28 28
Exams Start Monday, June 22 Monday, August 17
Exams Finish Friday, June 26 Friday, August 21
 

Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates


Summer Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2019

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1, 2 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1, 2 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1, 2
Term 1 Course May 20, 2019 May 21 – June 14, 2019 After June 14, 2019
Term 2 Course July 8, 2019 July 9 – August 2, 2019 After August 2, 2019
Full-session course (Terms 1 and 2) May 24, 2019 May 25 – July 19, 2019 After July 19, 2019

1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

2 Please refer to the Vancouver Calendar for Distance Education course drop/withdrawal dates.

Winter Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2019-20

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1, 2 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1, 2 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1, 2
Term 1 Course September 17, 2019 September 18 – November 8, 2019 After November 8, 2019
Term 2 Course January 17, 2020 January 18 – March 20, 2020 After March 20, 2020
Full-year course (Terms 1 and 2) September 24, 2019 September 25 – November 22, 2019 After November 22, 2019

1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

2 Please refer to the Vancouver Calendar for Distance Education course drop/withdrawal dates.

Summer Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2020

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1, 2 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1, 2 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1, 2
Term 1 Course May 15, 2020 May 16 – June 12, 2020 After June 12, 2020
Term 2 Course July 10, 2020 July 11 – August 7, 2020 After August 7, 2020
Full-session course (Terms 1 and 2) May 22, 2020 May 23 – July 17, 2020 After July 17, 2020

1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

2 Please refer to the Vancouver Calendar for Distance Education course drop/withdrawal dates.


Academic Year

Drop/Withdrawal Dates

Term and Examination Dates

Application and Document Deadlines

The University of British Columbia

Enrolment Services
University Centre, Room 322
3333 University Way, Kelowna BC, Canada V1V 1V7