Download a PDF of this section: Dates and Deadlines Print this page Email this page

Dates and Deadlines

Note that graduate and professional programs do not necessarily follow the term and formal examination period schedule as outlined below.

Term Dates


Term Dates for Summer Session 2020

  Term 1
(May – June, 2020)
Term 2
(July – August, 2020)
Start Monday, May 11 Monday, July 6
Finish Thursday, June 18 Thursday, August 13
Teaching Days 28 28
Exams Start Monday, June 22 Monday, August 17
Exams Finish Friday, June 26 Friday, August 21

Term Dates for Winter Session 2020/21

  Term 1
(September – December, 2020)
Term 2
(January – April, 2021)
Start Tuesday, September 8 Monday, January 4
Midterm Break N/A February 15 – 19
Finish Thursday, December 3 Thursday, April 8
Teaching Days 61 62
Exams Start Monday, December 7 Monday, April 12
Exams Finish Tuesday, December 22 Tuesday, April 27

Term Dates for Summer Session 2021

  Term 1
(May – June, 2021)
Term 2
(July – August, 2021)
Start Monday, May 10 Monday, July 5
Finish Thursday, June 17 Thursday, August 12
Teaching Days 28 28
Exams Start Monday, June 21 Monday, August 16
Exams Finish Friday, June 25 Friday, August 20

Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates


Summer Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2020

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1
Full-session course (Terms 1 and 2) May 22, 2020 May 23 – Jun 26, 2020 After June 26, 2020
Term 1 Course May 15, 2020 May 16 – May 29, 2020 After May 29, 2020
Term 2 Course July 10, 2020 July 11 – July 24, 2020 After July 24, 2020
Distance Education Terms A and B May 29, 2020 May 30 – June 26, 2020 After June 26, 2020
Distance Education Term C May 15, 2020 May 16 – May 29, 2020 After May 29, 2020
1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

Winter Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2020/21

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1
Full-year course (Terms 1 and 2) or Distance Education Term B September 25, 2020 September 25 – November 27, 2020 After November 27, 2020
Term 1 Course or Distance Education Term A September 22, 2020 September 23 – October 16, 2020 After October 16, 2020
Term 2 Course or Distance Education Term C January 18, 2021 January 19 – February 12, 2021 After February 12, 2021
Distance Education Term D January 22, 2021 January 23 – March 25, 2021 After March 25, 2021
1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

Summer Session: Course Drop/Withdrawal Dates 2021

  Last day to drop without a W standing through the Student Service Centre1 Student Service Centre available for course withdrawals with a W standing1 Student Service Centre unavailable; Faculty approval required1
Full-session course (Terms 1 and 2) May 21, 2021 May 22 – Jun 25, 2021 After June 25, 2021
Term 1 Course May 14, 2021 May 15 – May 28, 2021 After May 28, 2021
Term 2 Course July 9, 2021 July 10 – July 23, 2021 After July 23, 2021
Distance Education Terms A and B May 21, 2021 May 22 – June 25, 2021 After June 25, 2021
1 Please refer to the online Course Schedule for specific course drop/withdrawal dates.

Academic Year

Future Term and Examination Dates

Application and Document Deadlines

The University of British Columbia

Student Services
Vancouver Campus
1874 East Mall
Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia